DENny Awards 2018

Discovery Education believes that educators should be elevated and celebrated for everything they do to transform teaching and learning for students and their colleagues.

Established in 2009, the annual DENny Awards recognize Discovery Educators who have contributed to the growth of community through teaching or leading.

2018 DENny Award winners will be announced via social media all day on May 23, 2018, culminating with recognition during the special, live Start with WHY virtual event at 7 PM ET. DENny winners receive a physical award, certificate, badge, and recognition of their achievement sent to their leadership team.


DENny_expertise_o.png“People who have expertise, just love to share it. It’s human nature.” -David Baldacci

This award recognizes educators who have contributed to the success of local, national, or global Discovery Education communities through sharing their deep or unique expertise and skills with others.

2018 DENny Award Winners

Leon Blake

Leni Boucher

Libby Galster

Jennifer Hall

Hugh McDonald

Megan Melucci

Shana White

Nicole Zawidski


DENny_leadership_o.png“A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.” -John C. Maxwell

This award honors educators who model and support the overall mission of the DEN in leading opportunities for others to learn, share, and connect.

2018 DENny Award Winners

Stefanie Guffey

Taryn Hailstock

Wanda Hanley

Ruth Paine

Carolyn Rains

Cory Robertson

Miguel Santos

Rising STAR

DENny_rising_o.png“Each day learn something new, and just as important relearn something old.” -Robert Breault

This award is dedicated to educators who are new to the Discovery Education Community and have demonstrated leadership in sharing resources with others.

2018 DENny Award Winners

Linda Brecht

Matthew Chauvin

Denise De Clair

Tracy Martin

Niamh McQuillan

Brett Parker

Adam Phyall

Christine Pipkin

Vicki Santacroce

Melissa Urban

Spirit of the DEN

DENny_spirit_o.png"Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, What are you doing for others?" -Martin Luther King, Jr

This award is dedicated to an educator who is committed to learning, sharing and connecting with other educators.

2018 DENny Award Winner
Peter Panico

RJ Stangherlin Award

DENny_RJ_o.png"Commitment is an act, not a word." -Jean-Paul Sartre

This award is dedicated to an educator who shows an outstanding commitment to blogging and the Discovery Education Community.

2018 DENny Award Winner
Lindsay Foster


DENny_creativity_o.png"Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn't really do it, they just saw something.” -Steve Jobs

This award celebrates educators who demonstrate engaging and inventive approaches to teaching, learning, or leading.

2018 DENny Award Winners
Traci Belt

Stacey Clinton

Emily Fagan

Mel Morrin

Tiffany Mumm

Victoria Pendley

Dane Sadownyk

Nicole Spitzer


DENny_involvement_o.png"Without your involvement you can't succeed. With your involvement you can't fail." -A.P.J Abdul Kalam

This award is dedicated to educators who initiated or actively engaged in activity that significantly contributed to the sense of community.

2018 DENny Award Winners
Emy Aultman

Melissa Luna

Stephanie Madlinger

Debbie Martin

Nancy Tooraen

Kimberly Wright

Jessica Zepik

Community Contributor

DENny_contributor_o.png“The human contribution is the essential ingredient. It is only in the giving of oneself to others that we truly live.” -Ethel Percy Andrus

This award is dedicated to educators who are actively sharing and connecting with others in the DEN Online Community.

2018 DENny Award Winners

Michelle Joyce

Melissa Murray

Abigail Schiferl

Jeannine Shields

Genia Webb

Carrie Willis

DE in Action

DENny_action_o.png“If you are a leader, do everything you can to grow yourself and create the right environment for others to grow” -John C. Maxwell

This award celebrates educators who have opened their classroom doors to share how they use Discovery Education to have an impact on teaching and learning.

2018 DENny Award Winners
Sara Badiner

Ashley Buchman

Gwen Buto

Ryley Cote

Erin Davidson

Jackie Freeman

Sherri Harach

Anita Heitz

Dexter Horton

Faye Junos

Beth Mallien

Melissa Mitchell

Amanda Pond

Lani Reeder-Martin

Jen Rodgers

Jennifer Tatum

Dawn Wilson